A spring affair - Milly Johnson

 
Titel: A spring affair
Författare: Milly Johnson
Språk: Engelska
Sidantal: 482
Förlag: Simon & Schuster UK
Format: Häftad
Utgiven: 2009
Handling: "When Lou Winter picks up an old, dog-eared magazine in the dentist's waiting room and spots an article about clearing clutter, she little realises that it will change her life in ways she could not imagine.
What begins as an earnest spring clean of unwanted household debris - a never-touched omelette maker here, a hideous collection of chintz ornaments there - soon spirals out of control.
Before long Lou is hiring giant skips, in which to dump the copious amounts of junk she never knew she had. Lou's loved ones grow concerned - and not a little disgruntled. Where has all this energy come from, her husband Phil wonders? Why is clearing out cupboards suddenly more important than making his breakfast? And since when does quiet, meek, down-trodden Lou snap rude retorts at his sister, her mother, and even Phil himself?
The truth is, the more skips Lou fills, the more rubbish she lets go off, the more light and air can get to those painful, closed-up places at the centre of her house: a lovingly prepared room for a baby she would never have; an empty space her best friend Deb once occupied; and a gaping wound left by her husband's affair three years ago.
Even lovely Tom Broom, the man who delivers Lou's skips, starts to grow worried about his best customer. But Lou is a woman on a mission, and not even she knows where it will end ..."

Har jag nämnt att jag gillar Milly Johnson? Om inte så säger jag det nu. Denna bok SKULLE ha kunna varit för långsam och romantisk för min smak. Men Johnson håller mitt intresse uppe hela tiden. Det var en ganska tjock bok för en chick-lit romantisk bok, ändå kändes det inte för tungt.
 
Stackars Lou Winter är en kvinna som alla utnyttjar för att hon är så snäll. Hennes familj, hennes man, hennes vänner och bekanta. Sakta men säkert börjar Lou få nog, och försöker förändra sitt liv litet i taget. Hon får en nästan renande upplevelse av att vårstäda och göra sig av med saker som ligger och skräpar. I och med vårstädandet träffar hon Tom Broom, som hon hyr containers av. Den karaktären kan man inte låta bli att gilla...
 
Jag hatar hennes man Phil från första sidorna jag får läsa om honom. I början av boken blev jag irriterad på Lou för att hon inte stod på sig, men efterhand förstår man saker och ting bättre. I boken finns allt som man kunde förvänta sig; vänskap, intriger, kärlek, jobbdilemman, humor och brittisk känsla. Speciellt humor tycker jag ibland kan vara svårt att hitta i denna typ av böcker, men Johnson är bara så rolig. Alla karaktärer är dessutom trovärdiga, och historien känns äkta. Det är ju förutsägbart, men det gjorde ingenting. En feel-good bok.
 
Betyg:



Kommentera här: